OAKLAND, Calif. — The NBA’s “Last Two Minute Report” for the Golden State Warriors’ Game 1 overtime victory over the Cleveland Cavaliers in the Finals on Thursday revealed two infractions that should have been called on Draymond Green in the waning seconds of regulation.
The closing moments of regulation in Game 1 had everything. We let the Cavs and Warriors tell the unbelievable story in their own words.
Cavaliers forward Kevin Love will not be suspended for Game 2 of the Finals after lingering on the court while he was not checked into the game when a scuffle broke out at the end of Game 1, a league source confirmed to ESPN.
How will the Cavs and Warriors respond after an unforgettable Game 1? Here’s what worked and what failed.
It was determined that Green committed a lane violation by entering into the paint to establish rebounding position prior to George Hill releasing his second of two free throw attempts with 4.7 seconds remaining.
Hill missed the shot, leading to a wild sequence in which JR Smith grabbed the offensive rebound and dribbled out past the 3-point line with the score tied 107-107, rather than looking to score before the clock expired.
Had the lane violation been called, Hill would have been awarded another attempt to make the free throw.
The league also said that Green should have been called for a foul with 12.1 seconds to go for grabbing LeBron James‘ arm and affecting his freedom of movement. That contact preceded James’ pass to Hill that led to Klay Thompson fouling the Cavs point guard and putting him on the line.
The Cavs were in the bonus at the time, meaning if the foul on Green was called, James — and not Hill — would have been the one attempting two free throws with the Cavs down 107-106.
James shot 10-for-11 from the free throw line in the 124-114 defeat.
The L2M also offered an explanation as to why the charge call on Kevin Durant with 36.4 seconds remaining was overturned and ended up as a blocking foul on James.
“The crew was not reasonably certain whether James was in the restricted area after an offensive foul was called against Durant,” the report said. “Upon replay review, it was confirmed that James was outside the restricted area. The referees also reviewed whether James was in a legal guarding position, which is an additional reviewable matter for this replay trigger. Replay showed James was not in a legal guarding position because he was turning his body and moving into Durant when contact occurred. Thus the initial call on the floor was overturned and James was assessed a blocking foul.”